CAF Awards 2019- Nominees

CAF Awards 2019 nominees

 The Confederation Of African Football (CAF) is the regulatory body in charge of all administrative and football activities as it concerns Africa as a continent.

On Sunday 24th of November 2019 made a crucial announcement on its official social media account to announce nominations for various categories for the CAFAwards 2019.

The award ceremony and winners of various awards would be announced on the 7th of January 2020.

Various Categories for the Awards

1. African player of the year

2.women’s player of the year

3. Women’s coach of the year

4. Women’s national team of the year

5. Coach of the year

6. Interclub player of the year

7. Youth player of the year

8. Men’s National team of the year

This announcement came after the just concluded #Total Afcon U-23 cup of Nations in Cairo and  Egypt were crowned champions of the competition after defeating Côte d’Ivoire.

This means that Egypt, Côte d’Ivoire, and South Africa would represent the continent(Africa) in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Nominees for Various Categories

Women’s player of the year

1. Ajara Nchout of(Cameroon & Valerenga)

2. Ange N’ Guessan ( Côte d’Ivoire & UDG Tenerife)

3. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

4. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria & Rivers Angels) Goalkeeper

5.  Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Jiangsu Suning FC)

6. Gabrielle Ouguene ( Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

7. Refiloe Jane ( South Africa & AC Milan)

8. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning FC)

9. Christen Thembi Kgatlana ( South Africa)

10.  Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria & southeastern Fire)

Women’s coach of the year Nominee’s

1. Alan Djeumfa ( Cameroon) national women’s team

2. David Ouma ( Kenya) national women’s team

3. Bruce Mwape ( Zambia) senior national women’s team

4. Clementine Toure ( Côte d’Ivoire) national women’s team

5. Desiree Ellis (South Africa) national women’s team

6. Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria) national women’s team

Women’s national team of the year Nominee’s includes;

1. Cameroon

2. Côte d’Ivoire

3. Kenya

4. Nigeria

5. South Africa

6. Zambia

Men’s National team of the Year Nominee’s are;

1. Algeria

2. Madagascar

3. Nigeria.

4. Senegal

5. Tunisia

Also, Read NFF Scouts Ebere Eze

Youth player of the year

  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
  • Amadou Haidara (Mali &  RB Leipzig)
  • Amadou Sagna (Senegal &  Club Brugge)
  • Enock Mwepu (Zambia & Red Bull Salzburg)
  • Ismaïla Sarr (Senegal &  Watford)
  • Krepin Diatta (Senegal & Club Brugge)
  • Moussa Djenepo (Mali &  Southampton)
  • Moussa Ndiaye (Senegal & Excellence Foot)
  • Musa Barrow (Gambia &  Atalanta)
  • Osvaldo Pedro Capemba ‘Capita’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)
  • Patson Daka (Zambia & Red Bull Salzburg)
  • Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria &  Villarreal)
  • Sekou Koita (Mali & Red Bull Salzburg)
  • Steve Regis Mvoue (Cameroon & AS Azur Star)
  • Victor Osimhen (Nigeria &  Lille)
  • Zito Luvumbo (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)

Inter clubs Player of the Year 2019

CAF Awards 2019 nominees
CAF Awards 2019 nominees for Interclubs

Coach of the Year Award

CAF Awards 2019 nominees
CAF Awards 2019 nominees for coach of the year

The African player of the Year Award

  1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
  2. André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax) Goalkeeper
  3. Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria& Al-Sadd)
  4. Carolus Andriamatsinoro (Madagascar & Al Adalah)
  5. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  6. Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon &  Paris Saint – Germain
  7. Ferjani Sassi(Tunisia & Zamalek)
  8. Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
  9. Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Paris Saint-Germain)
  10. Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan)
  11. Jordan Ayew (Ghana &  Crystal Palace)
  12. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
  13. Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & Al Ain)
  14. Mahmoud Hassan”Trezeguet” (Egypt &  Aston Villa
  15. Mbwana Samatta Tanzania & Genk)
  16. Mohamed Salah (Egypt &  Liverpool)
  17. Moussa Marega (Mali &  Porto)
  18. Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
  19. Nicolas Pepe (Côte d’Ivoire & Arsenal)
  20. Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua)
  21. Percy Tau (South Africa & Club Brugge)
  22. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
  23. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  24. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  25. Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
  26. Thomas Teye Partey (Ghana & Atlético Madrid)
  27. Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)
  28. Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria &  Leicester City)
  29. Wilfried Zaha (Côte d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)
  30. Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)

Immediately after the official confirmation from CAF on who is to be the African Footballer of the year, football fans from across the world are already tipping Sadio Mane of Senegal & Liverpool forward to win the prestigious award.

This award was Last won by Mohammed Salah of Egypt & Liverpool, but fans believe Sadio Mane has a better edge over him considering what Mane has done with Liverpool in the last few seasons.

Also, Sadio Mane is the fourth highest African goalscorer in the Premier League history with 68goals

Are you wondering how the winner for these awards is selected?

The winners are usually decided by the CAF Technical & Development Committee, media experts, continental legends, coaches who made it to the quarter-finals of both CAF competitions (Champions League and Confederation Cup).

Also, coaches, team captains of all the national teams of the 54 member associations have their role to play in the selection process.

Leave a Comment